I’m Dana Feero

I began writing at the age of 12, partly from living in the country where the nearest neighbor was a 1/4 of a mile away, and partly because of depression. My home life was privileged but strained, with an overbearing father and a passive aggressive mother there was a lot of mental abuse. I was orphaned and abandoned very early in life, spent a year in an unstable foster home, and adopted at the age of 2 1/2. I loved to read to escape the stresses of school and life, and found I could become anyone I wanted to be in my imagination. A whole new world of alternative realities and alter-egos opened up to me, and in 1976 I began to realize that I could also write. I could make up short stories, and even tried my hand at writing a novel when I was in middle school.

A geek to the core, my free times at school were spent volunteering in the school library and hanging around with the other rejects like me. You know, the ones who didn’t have parents that could get them anything they wanted. We weren’t part of the cool crowd. We were the (slow learners), or the ones nobody else seemed to want to hang around with, but we had each other and stuck together. Kids around that age can be very cruel and heartless when you don’t fit in, so it was hard growing up. But I kept writing; kept pursuing my dream. And although I wasn’t the brightest kid in the school, there were a few things I excelled at: English, literature, and writing.

In my early twenties I finally had to face where my sin and running from God had brought me to–penniless, several thousand dollars in debt, 7 months pregnant, and trapped in an abusive relationship with a man I wasn’t married to. My parents had disowned me and I was on my own. I was a good kid, by today’s standards, but God didn’t and still doesn’t see it that way. Like the prodigal son, I finally surrendered to Christ on the floor of our dilapidated trailer home with holes in the walls and gaps large enough for small animals to come in. I guess you could say I was getting back to nature, ha, ha.

The year was 1988, and I discovered the saving grace of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ in Sept of that year. I had sunk so far down that the only place I could look was up, and there He found me. He lifted me up out of that muck and mire my sin had brought me to, and in 3 days I was back home with my parents and away from the man who had kept me trapped for 2 years. If anyone ever tells you that God doesn’t work miracles, just send them my way, I have plenty of testimonies to show them otherwise. My sin may have been forgiven, but I still had to face the effects of them. I had to give my baby up for adoption. I wanted a better life for him than I could provide, and there was also the problem of his abusive father to complicate the issue. The fear of him finding us forced me to opt for a closed adoption, meaning that I could never visit him, see any photos of him growing up, or even know where he was. But it was all for him, and I would gladly do it again just to know he was kept safe and had the opportunity to be raised in a stable Christian home.

Fast forward 5 yrs later. I finally found the man God had set apart for me, and a newborn baby boy that I could keep and watch grow up. He’s now 20 and the apple of God’s eye as well as mine. I am a servant of God first, a wife and mother second, and a writer third. That desire to write never left me, but changed for the better after I was saved. Instead of writing to make my mark on the world, I write for my Lord, to bring glory to Him and to send out His word to the lost and weary. He created me to be who I am, and who I am is securely in Christ. I hope a bit of my story is an inspiration to others. He made you just the way you are. You may not see it now, but you were made for a specific purpose, and God will use you to be uniquely you; whether it’s writing, soccer, working with kids, or witnessing on Twitter and Facebook, YOU are special and set apart, and God will use you to do great things. Just surrender to Him and He will refine you and direct your path.

This is my first functioning site, and one in which I can call myself an author. I have completed the rough draft of my first novel, “Fireflies of Switchmore Creek” God will direct me on how to publish it. I hope you enjoy my blog and tell others about it. Your feedback would be greatly appreciated and I welcome your critiques. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

